

(227) Massage Therapist New Application Checklist

Contents

General Information	2
Instructions:	
Qualifications/Exemptions:	2
Application Requirements	3
Application Fees	6
Security Clearance Information	7
Illinois Fingerprint Vendors	7
Out-of-State Fingerprint Vendors	7

Instructions:

- 1. Before completing the application package, read each step. This will aid you in accurately completing your application and eliminate any delay in processing.
- 2. Applicant **must be at least 18 years of age** and must be of good moral character in order to apply for a massage therapist license.
- 3. Applicants may apply to become a Licensed Massage Therapist via the Licensure of Acceptance of Examination method or the Endorsement Method.
 - Acceptance of Examination: Applicant has taken a National Exam, referred to by Illinois statute, in any state. Applicant is generally not licensed in another state.
 - Endorsement: Original license issued in another state that state's requirements were substantially equivalent to Illinois requirements at time license was issued. Applicant has taken a National Exam.
- 4. Disclosure of your U.S. social security number, if you have one, is mandatory, in accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled Statutes 100/10-65 to obtain a license. The social security number may be provided to the Illinois Department of Public Aid to identify persons who are more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order, or to the Illinois Department of Revenue to identify persons who have failed to file a tax return, pay tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment or tax penalty or interest, as required by any Tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, or to other entities for verification of identification.
- 5. Applicants have three (3) years from the date of application to complete application process. If the process has not been completed in three (3) years, the applicant is denied, the fee is forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
- 6. The Massage Therapist application fee is \$175.00 and is non-refundable.

Qualifications/Exemptions:

Massage Therapist License

- An approved curriculum in massage therapy shall consist of a minimum of 600 clock hours of supervised classroom and supervised hands-on instruction, with "supervised' being defined as a supervisor that is physically on-site, qualified and immediately available.
 - Minimum required subject matter and activities
 - Human anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology
 - Massage therapy theory, technique, and practice
 - Contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, history, client data collection, documentation, ethics, business and legalities of massage, professional standards including draping modesty, therapeutic relationships and communications
 - Each student must maintain a minimum grade of 70% for all massage therapy related course and clinical work.

 All applicants must instruct the Federation of State Message Therapy Boards (FSMTB) or the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) to forward an official score report of your examination record directly to the Division of Professional Regulation within the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

Application Requirements

Licensure Method	Requirements				
Massage Therapist Acceptance of Examination	 Completed online application including all required information Date and Place of Birth Social Security Number Temporary Military Permit Name Change Information Education Information You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Massage Therapist license. Proof of passage of an examination must be sent directly from one of the following entities. Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) taken before February 2015. Official transcript of grades must be sent directly from the Massage Therapy program/school from which the applicant obtained his or her degree that shows that the applicant has met all Illinois requirements for graduation/completion. Graduates of a foreign program must submit a paper application and an official translation if the transcript is not in English. Please contact 800-560-6420 and request a paper application. The Massage Therapy Board will review all foreign programs and approve/or deny applicant to sit for the MBLEX exam. Transcripts not sent by the program/school will not be accepted. Record of Licensure: list all other related or non-related professional licenses held in Illinois or another state(s). Fingerprint Information: the fingerprint Transaction Control Number (TCN) from your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long and can be found on the receipt provided by your fingerprint vendor. Please keep your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long and can be found on the receipt provided by your fingerprint vendor. Please keep your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long and can be found on the receipt provided by your fingerprint vendor. Failure to comply with a child	ONLINE			

- 8. Personal History Information (if applicable) including:
 - Criminal History
 - Felony Convictions
 - Dishonorable discharge from military service or public service
 - Disease or conditions that may interfere with professional work
 - Denial of a prior professional license

Licensure Method	Requirements				
Massage Therapist Endorsement	 Completed online application including all required information Date and Place of Birth Social Security Number or an SSN Affidavit Temporary Military Permit Name Change Information Education Information You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Massage Therapist license. Proof of passage of an examination must be sent directly from one of the following entities. Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) taken before February 2015 Official transcript of grades must be sent directly from the Massage Therapy program/school from which the applicant obtained his or her degree that shows that the applicant has met all Illinois requirements for graduation/completion. Graduates of a foreign program must submit a paper application and an official translation if the transcript is not in English. Please contact 800-560-6420 and request a paper application. The Massage Therapy Board will review all foreign programs and approve/or deny applicant to sit for the MBLEX exam. Transcripts not sent by the program/school will not be accepted Record of Licensure: previous Massage Therapist License AND list all other related or non-related professional licenses held in Illinois or another state(s). Fingerprint Information: the fingerprint Transaction Control Number (TCN) from your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long and can be found on the receipt provided by your fingerprint vendor. 	ONLINE PORTAL			
	 Record of Licensure: previous Massage Therapist License AND list all other related or non-related professional licenses held in Illinois or another state(s). Fingerprint Information: the fingerprint Transaction Control Number (TCN) from your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long 				
	(TCN) from your fingerprint receipt. This number is 16 characters long and can be found on the receipt provided by your fingerprint vendor. Please keep your fingerprint receipt until your license has been issued.				
	 Felony Convictions Dishonorable discharge from military service or public service Disease or conditions that may interfere with professional work Denial of a prior professional license 8. Failure to comply with a child support order, defaulting on a student loan, or defaulting on taxes.				

Application Fees

Fees collected through the licensing process are NOT REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE.					
Complete	License Type	Submitted:			
1.	(129) Massage Therapist License	ONLINE PORTAL			
NOTES: All major credit and debit cards as well as ACH and eCheck are accepted.					

Security Clearance Information

Individuals applying for licensure for professions that require fingerprints must submit to a criminal background check and provide evidence of fingerprint processing from a fingerprint vendor licensed by the Department. Fingerprints must be taken within 60 days from the date that the application is submitted to the Department or the Department's testing vendor.

Illinois Fingerprint Vendors

- 1. Applicants may contact a licensed fingerprint vendor to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting by <u>clicking</u> <u>here</u>. The Illinois State Police will transmit electronic results of fingerprint processing to the Department.
 - Applicants fingerprinted in Illinois will no longer be required to submit a physical copy of their live scan
 receipt as a part of their initial license application. Instead, they will be required to enter their 16-digit
 Transaction Control Number (TCN) found on the fingerprint receipt issued by their licensed fingerprint
 vendor.
 - Applicants should still retain a copy of this fingerprint receipt until their license has been issued, as the
 Department may request a copy of it if any issues in the fingerprinting process arise during the application
 process.

Out-of-State Fingerprint Vendors

Out-of-State applicants who are unable to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting through a licensed fingerprint vendor need to complete the following steps:

- 1. Obtain one (1) Illinois State Police (ISP) **Fee Applicant Card** for processing. Applicants may contact the Department at 1-800-560-6420 or send an email request on your profession page of the Department website at http://IDFPR.illinois.gov The ISP will transmit electronic results of the fingerprint processing to the Department.
- 2. Complete Section 1 of the **Identity Verification Certifying Statement form (OOS-FP).** See the end of this packet for form OOS-FP.
- 3. The **Fee Applicant Card** shall be taken to a police department in another state to obtain classifiable prints.
- 4. Section 2 of the **Identity Verification Certifying Statement form (OOS-FP)** shall be completed and signed by the police department.
- 5. <u>Click here</u> to select a licensed Illinois fingerprint vendor that has "Card Scan" capability. Contact the vendor to determine the fee for a "Card Scan".
- Mail the original Identity Verification Certifying Statement form (OOS-FP) (with Sections 1 and 2 completed),
 Fee Applicant Card and fingerprint fee to the licensed fingerprint vendor selected from the Division of Professional Regulation website.

7. To verify applicants have completed the fingerprinting process, IDFPR will require applicants to enter the 16 digit *Transaction Control Number (TCN)* found on their *Fee Applicant Card* issued by the Illinois State Police. This number can be found in the upper-right hand corner of the *Fee Applicant Card* and begins with the letters *'FRM'*.

Applicants *should still* retain a copy of all OOS-FP-related forms until their license has been issued, as the Department may request a copy of it if any issues in the fingerprinting process arise during the application process.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this form is necessary for consideration for licensure under 225 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes. Disclosure of this information is VOLUNTARY. However, failure to comply may result in this form not being processed.

CERTIFICATION OF EDUCATION

SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

ED-MT

APPLICAN	IT: Complete of the form		ection of this form, t	hen forward it to the so	shool for completion of the remainder		
1. NAME	LAST	FIRST	MIDDLE	2. DATE OF BIRTH	3. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER		
				Month Day Year			
4. ADDRESS	STREET, CI	TY, STATE, ZIP	CODE	5. REFER TO REFERENC	E SHEET. Record profession name and three which you are making Illinois application.		
6 MAIDEN OF	R GIVEN SURNA	 AMF					
S				Profession N	ame Profession Code		
7. NAME OF	INSTITUTION AT	TENDED		B. DATE OF GRADUATION	I / COMPLETION		
				/ / / Month Day	Year		
				nformation requested be			
		Date		Si	gnature of Applicant		
SCHOOL	OFFICIAL: C	omplete the bo	ottom portion of thi	s page and return dire	ctly to the applicant.		
A. NAME OF	INSTITUTION			B. ADDRESS OF INSTI	TUTION STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE		
C. APPLICANT	WAS (CHECK	ONE):		D. DATES OF ATTENDANCE			
☐ Full-tir	ne 🗆 P	Part-time □	□ Со-ор	From / / / Month Day	Year To//Year Year		
E. CHECK TH	E APPROPRIATE	E STATEMENT(S)	AND COMPLETE				
Applicant	has completed	program on M	onth Day Year	Applicant will comple	te program on///		
F. IF EDUCAT	ION PROGRAM	WAS COMPLETE	D IN LESS THAN THE	NORMALLY REQUIRED T	IME, PLEASE EXPLAIN:		
		ORD ANY OTHER		YOU FEEL WOULD ASSIS	T THE DEPARTMENT IN EVALUATING		

A minimum of 600 clock hours of supervised of following subject matter and activities:	classroom and	supervised hands	on instruction were completed	d in the
<u>Subjects</u>	<u>Hours</u>	<u>Subjects</u>		<u>Hours</u>
Human anatomy		Benefits		·
Physiology	·	Universal Precau	utions	•
Pathology		Body Mechanics		·
Kinesiology	·	History		·
Massage therapy theory	·	Client Data Colle	ections	
Technique and practice(which may include but is not limited to:	·	Documentation .		·
effleurage/gliding; petrissage/kneading; compression; friction tapotement/percussion;		Business and Le	galities of Massage	·
vibration; direct pressure; superficial warming techniques; pumping; stretching; jostling;		Professional Sta (including drapin	ndardsg and modesty)	·
shaking; rocking) Contraindications	·	Therapeutic Rela	ationships and	
I certify that the information recorded herein	is true and cor	rect according to t	ne official records of this institu	ution.
Print Name of School Official			Signature of School Official	
Title			Date	
			school seal, this form must be	
	Date of Expiration Signature of Notary Public			
ATTENTION APPLICANTReturn this form directly to: ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION ATTN: DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 320 WEST WASHINGTON STREET, L&T1 SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62786				

H. APPROVED MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this form is necessary for consideration for licensure under 225 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes. Disclosure of this information is VOLUNTARY. However, failure to comply may result in this form not being processed.

CERTIFICATION BY LICENSING AGENCY / BOARD

CT

SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

APPLICANT: Complete the applicant section of this form you are requesting certification by a licens appropriate fee. You are authorized to pho	sing agency/board. Contact certifying jurisdiction for
1. NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE	2. DATE OF BIRTH 3. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
4. ADDRESS STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE	REFER TO REFERENCE SHEET. Record profession name and three digit profession code for which you are making Illinois application. Profession Name Profession Code
6. MAIDEN OR GIVEN SURNAME	7. APPLICANT TELEPHONE NUMBER (Daytime) Area Code ()
8a. RECORD PROFESSION NAME AS IT APPEARS ON YOUR LICENSE FROM THE JURISDICTION TO WHICH THIS FORM IS BEING FOR-WARDED. (If applicable)	8b.LICENSE NUMBER (If applicable) 8c. ISSUANCE DATE OF LICENSE (If applicable)
I hereby authorizeName of Licensing Agency or Boa	to furnish to the Illinois Department of
Financial and Professional Regulation or its designated testing	
Signature	Date
LICENSING AGENCY: The Illinois Department of Finance of certification provided all application. Please record N	FORM TO APPLICANT sial and Professional Regulation will accept other forms cable information requested on this form is contained in I/A in areas which are not applicable.
A. The applicant has written is scheduled to wi	Date of Examination
B. The applicant has or will have written the above-named example. CERTIFICATION OF LICENSURE	amination number of times.
A. NAME OF PROFESSION AS IT APPEARS ON LICENSE	B. LICENSE NUMBER
C. ISSUANCE DATE OF LICENSE	D. EXPIRATION DATE OF LICENSE
E. LICENSURE METHOD Examination (Administered in Your State) National (Name) State Constructed Other (Name) Endorsement of License (State) Acceptance of Examination Results (Administered in Another State)	Credentials Other (Describe)
F. CURRENT LICENSURE STATUS	G. IF LICENSED BY EXAMINATION, RECORD SCORES
☐ Active ☐ Inactive ☐ Lapsed ☐ Other (Explain)	Type of Examination Score Written Practical Other (Describe)
	Received no Grade Below

Scaled Score		Raw Score			
Standard Deviation					
National Mean	·		Percent Score	·	
2. SUBJECT	DATE	SCORE	SUBJECT	DATE	SCORE
332323	27.11.2	333.12	33320.	27.112	
State Constructed Exar	nination DATE	SCORE	SUBJECT	DATE	SCORE
0000001	D/III	300112	000001	5/112	COUNT
	any formal sanction	s imposed agains rimand, probatior		tter of public suspension,	Yes Yes
RT V - RECIPROCAL REGIS	• •	attacii a certiile	u copy of disciplinary	action.)	
nis state does	does not gran	t the same privile	ge of reciprocal registra	tion to Illinois regi	istrants.
certify that the information	contained herein i	s true and correct	according to the officia	I records of the S	tate.
	Print Name				
EAL	Title			Signature	
	Agency/Board Street A	Addross		Date	
			Area Code ()	
	City, State, ZIP Co	nda.	T.	elephone Number	

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this form is necessary for licensure/ employment under provision set forth within the Illinois Compiled Statutes or other related Federal laws. Disclosure of this information is VOLUNTARY. However, failure to comply may result in the denial of your application.

IDENTITY VERIFICATION CERTIFYING STATEMENT

OOS-FP

Pursuant to Title 68 Part 1240.535 of the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 Rules, fingerprint vendors are required to confirm identity of the individual seeking to be finger-printed. This identity verification form must be completed for out-of-state residents applying for licensure/employment in the State of Illinois. This form will be utilized to confirm the personal identifying information being placed on the Illinois State Police (ISP) Fee Applicant fingerprint card, form number ISP-404. The out-of-state agency chosen to take your fingerprints, must complete this form, as written confirmation that a valid government issued drivers license or State ID was presented and that the identification provided, belongs to the individual being fingerprinted.

Instructions: This form must be submitted, along with a manual Fee Applicant fingerprint card to which your fingerprints have been applied, to a licensed live scan fingerprint vendor in the State of Illinois possessing "Scan Card" capability to ensure electronic transmission of the Fee Applicant fingerprint card. The electronic transmission of fingerprints to the ISP is mandated pursuant to Title 20 Part 1265 "Electronic Transmission of Fingerprints". **The manual submission of fingerprints to ISP is no longer acceptable.** Once your fingerprints have been taken, a signed original of this form must be attached to your Fee Applicant fingerprint card and submitted to an Illinois licensed live scan fingerprint vendor. As well, an additional copy may be required to be submitted to the requesting State Agency along with any additional application or required documentation specified by the State Agency.

Section 1 Applicant Information	n (All fields mandatory))	
LAST NAME:	FIRST:	MIDDLE:	PHONE NUMBER:
MAIDEN NAME/GIVEN SURNAME:	POSITION / F	REASON FINGERPRINTED: (NU	JRSE/DOCTOR/SECURITY GUARD, ETC)
ADDRESS: (STREET/CITY/STATE/ZIP)		DATE OF BI	RTH: SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:
Section 2 Certifying Agency Ta	king Fingerprints (Inclu	ude TCN from Fee Applicar	nt card)
AGENCY NAME:	TCN: FRM		
DATE FINGERPRINT TAKEN: /	/ CONTACT	PHONE NUMBER: () -
PRINTING AGENT'S NAME: LAST	·	FIRST	
		tification presented by the ame individual. (Must be ch	applicant and attest that to the necked to certify)
PRINTING AGENT'S SIGNATURE:			
Illinois	Live Scan Finge	erprint Vendor Info	ormation
Section 3 Fingerprint Vendor A	gency Name		
LIVE SCAN FP AGENCY NAME:			
REQUESTING STATE AGENCY:		REQUESTING	S STATE AGENCY ORI:
DATE FINGERPRINTS SUBMITTED TO	ISP:	COST CENT	ER USED: